Stop.Refresh.Go

Learning and Teaching…12 Months. 12 Projects. 365 days

Books and Nooks?

Leave a comment

I can’t say I am a wealth of knowledge when it comes to anything… I think I am kind of a mini expert at a bunch of things. But I have read my fair share of books about the vegan life.  My lovely sister has been a vegetarian since she was in 3rd grade (approx).  When I was younger I used to make fun of her, and once (the evil child that I was) laughed uncontrollably at her when she ate a beef burrito from taco bell, and thought it was beans.  Now, when I think of that, I feel so sad that I did that!  I think that I was probably just jealous of her, and the fact that she could do something that I couldn’t at the time.   Hopefully I have transformed from the mean child I once was…Not sure if Jenna would agree with that statement, but that’s ok. 

One book I have read that I love is called Eat to Live.  It’s written by Dr. Joel Fuhrman and it gives you medically sound facts and information garnished on why the vegan life is the best thing for your body, and ultimate health in the long run.  His ideas and “diet” are “lifestyle changes” (you have heard that term from EVERY woman who has ever been on a diet) that is pretty severe.  He guarantees weight loss, but also guarantees optimum health.  It seems to me that he targets overweight and obese people (been there) with health and heart problems, to get them turned in healthy directions.  Honestly, the book was such an inspiration I have been using it at a guideline for about a year now. To learn more about the book check out –à http://www.drfuhrman.com/shop/ETLBook.aspx

His website has some great tips about organic living and alternates and substitutions for everyday food choices.  Although this may be too extreme of a choice for many, its worth a read solely for the medical information and statistics he shares relating to heart disease and cancer which, lets face it, effects all of us somehow.  I also came across this veggie site that outlines some great info about being a vegetarian ——-àhttp://www.vrg.org/nutshell/vegan.htm  It wasn’t too hard to find this site, it always pops up first when I search “vegan”  in google (lol). 

One other good read I am going to have to check out is a book my family is obsessed with right now.  Its called Born to Run, by Chris Mcdougall, and apparently it is amazing. 

http://www.chrismcdougall.com/book.html.  As inspired as I am by Dr. Fuhrman’s book, I am wondering if this book will encourage me to get out on my two legs more and take a run once in awhile.  Although I am much happier on my yoga mat, I can appreciate a good run once in a blue moon.  A very blue moon.   

If you notice I post about books a lot, its because I am a LIBRARIAN! Well, not in my current life, but in my University life that is what it says on my diploma.  I love books and am sooo close to buying a nook or a kindle fire but I haven’t had the heart to do it yet. 

Yoga tonight, black bean burrito for lunch, and shopping with mama after work. Life is good.  Right now I’m thanking God for giving me an easy path at this point in my life. 

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

