Stop.Refresh.Go

Learning and Teaching…12 Months. 12 Projects. 365 days

RUNNING OPTIONAL

Leave a comment

I hate running.  I want to love running, but I just can’t…I am not sure if its the tiredness that hits me after a couple miles, the pain in my ankles, or the boredom that bothers me the most.  All I know is that it is just not something I look forward to.  The only time I crave running is when I am trying to escape everything and eveyone for a little while.  It is something I turn to if I want to shut my mind off and get away from it all.  That being said, I do not get a thrill out of lacing up my running shoes.  I would much rather be on my yoga mat challenging my body that way.  That being said, I know my body loves cardio.  I get leaner and my legs shape up fast.  But sometimes that is just not enough motivation for me to get my ass movin out the door.  Also I love to carb load…you would think a giant plate of spaghetti would be solid motivation, but no…

That being said, I started to read a book called, Born to Run, which apparently is pretty popular right now to vegans, vegetarians, athletes and my family.  I am not too far into the book yet but I wanted to focus on the magical little seed that they talk about … the “superfood” chia. 

(what is a chia seed?  –> http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/QAA365093/Chia-for-Health.html) Now, I buy chia seeds and put them in my oatmeal.  For some reason they add a fluffy texture when I throw in a palmful, and although I do not know too much about their superpowers…I figured it couldn’t hurt.  I have also added them to salads with flax seeds (not sure if you are supposed to do that) and baked goods like muffins and banana bread). Some other ideas of how to use the seeds—> http://www.chiaseedrecipes.com/40-ways-to-use-chia-seeds.php Well the book talks about the slimy drink that these runners make with chia seeds called iskiate.  Basically you dissolve chia seeds in water, add a little lime, some sugar, and chill until cold—> (http://www.nomeatathlete.com/tarahumara-pinole-chia-recipes/)  I haven’t tried it yet, but supposedly you get a pretty significant boost of energy, plus its supposed to be a grand slam of goodness for your body.  It seems a little bit like the consistency of aloe vera, or hand sanitizer…but I imagine it probably tastes like limeaide  But I figure, I am going to try it out.  It can’t hurt, and I want to see what its all about. 

But, trying new things like this means I have to make time to get to the store, and actually put some things in my fridge and in my cupboard other than the tons of dried beans that are already hibernating there.  This week (although I am working 6 out of 7 days) I am going to make time for myself and the things I need to get done for myself and around my home.  This week I am prioritizing myself (as opposed to last week when I prioritized everyone else).  Its difficult, as an adult, trying to be a good friend, family member, and girlfriend…and make time for yourself.  It is hard to find a new balance.  I figure that is why your circle of friends get a bit smaller as you get older.  Or at least a little quieter and more far between.  I figure, I am going to attempt to let things flow and happen naturally instead of trying to force everything and everyone to stay the same. 

Anyway…off to a new week, 3rd full week attempt at my first goal out of 12, and hopefully on to a better body, life, and me. 

Namaste. 

Renee

Author: reneetealeaf

I... ~Put braids in my hair. ~Always picture myself as a redhead ~Fall down a lot/Klutz ~Hate working when I could be doing much more intere

Leave a Reply

