Stop.Refresh.Go

Learning and Teaching…12 Months. 12 Projects. 365 days

Eyeball Rolls and OMs

Leave a comment

A grown woman rolled her eyes at me yesterday… Not once…not twice… but three times. All I was doing was trying to help her. Needless to say I needed yoga last night. When I found myself say out loud more than once, “I really wanted to punch her in the face,” I realized that I did NOT have control of myself or my emotions at that point.

SO, that is what I was attempting to get back in check last night. It worked pretty well…I have a sense of peace that I feel through my toes and my fingertips, Last night we were focusing on back bends (I had nightmares of doing a bridge from a standing position like we did when we were little kids??? You know? I dreamt I fell on my head) and it actually was pretty cool. A lot of the positions were geared toward helping the thyroid, which really interests me. Also another super positive effect of yoga is that the practice is geared on keeping the kidneys warm and in fabulous working shape. ( http://suite101.com/article/yoga-for-improving-kidney-function-a144183) This is awesome especially considering many of us will go into renal failure at an older age due to the rough way we treat our kidneys, excessive drugs, drinking, and somewhat poisonous lifestyles. Keep them healthy now!

Anyway…I have been using a lot of Cumin and a lot of Cilantro when I have been cooking lately. I was never big on the fake meat…I may tackle that in upcoming weeks, but I haven’t gotten the guts or urge to go there yet. In addition to my burrito making, I love making a big pot of beans. I thought this was interesting because they are talking about how beneficial beans are in the book I keep talking about Born to Run. My beans as follows:

  • Black Beans
  • Corn
  • green and red peppers
  • red onion
  • cumin (to taste)
  • veggie broth (a tiny bit)
  • salsa (fresh or jarred)
  • fresh cilantro (a few leaves)

Throw it all in a pot together and cook down! Depending on how hard your beans are…cook longer or shorter. So Delish!! I don’t know why my taste has been running toward mexican as of late (I am not even sure if Mexican is culturally accurate so please forgive me for my ignorance) and I never get sick of it. A good vegan mexi site–> http://www.veganmexicanfood.com/

I eat this when I think I have eaten too many bready carbs… For example, I ate granola for breakfast this morning, and I know I am having spaghetti tonight, so I made these for lunch and skipped the tortilla. I add a little more goodness by dumping the beans over greens and making sure I eat a huge salad slowly before the spaghetti. This prevents me from shoving so much spaghetti in my face later I’m in a food coma on the couch groaning with my pants unbuttoned. No, I’m serious this actually happens.

So…One last thing I learned. Last night in yoga we chanted… “Om Shanti Shanti Shanti Om.” I always was petrified to chant. It felt weird . Almost felt like I was praying to God…but maybe that I wasn’t supposed to be doing it that way? Well that is all far behind me. Chanting is such a cool thing to do and be involved in. Its like you are on a different, awesome wavelength. Its not so much the words, but the feelings that come along with them. Its like…the ultimate peace. Its hard to describe, but you really have to just get past your egos and let go. So… “Om” is actually just a noise, or vibration. It actually is the most sacred mantra. It basically is the vibration of life (If I am understanding correctly) It is more of like a wavelength, and apparently is is the only sound you can hear resonating in deep space—> http://hinduism.about.com/od/omaum/a/meaningofom.htm

Shanti means peace. So when you say it three times, then accurate meaning is “peace within ourselves, peace to those we know, and peace to everyone else.” I love the idea of mantra yoga ( http://www.yogaworld.org/mantra.htm) I think it has to be amazing. And actually when I used to pray when I was very young I used to pray for myself first, then my family, and then everyone else. I just thought that was funny that my little girl prayers came back around to me in my yoga class. I have to say that yoga is the most amazing, interesting thing I have ever wanted to learn about.

So to that lady who rolled her eyes at me three times yesterday, I love you, and I don’t want to punch you at all anymore.

Xoxo

20121017-105946.jpg

Author: reneetealeaf

I... ~Put braids in my hair. ~Always picture myself as a redhead ~Fall down a lot/Klutz ~Hate working when I could be doing much more intere

Leave a Reply

